Vytautas Magnus University originated as a private school – Courses of Higher Education established by the Association of Courses of Higher Education on the 27th of January 1920. The school's activity continued until the 16th of February 1922, when the University of Lithuania was established.

In 1930, the University of Lithuania was granted the name of Vytautas Magnus University and, with increasing state’s attention to science and education, the most ambitious academic objectives have become of high level.

The Society of Humanities and Literature (1927–1950) active in the University of Lithuania supported not only scientific research but also the publishing of books. Vytautas Magnus University creatively extended the publishing activity that had originated in the University of Lithuania. Although the University did not have its own publishing house, the University professors and young scientists edited and published scientific, social, cultural publications – from daily newspapers and magazines to fundamental works, “not for material but purely for ideological reasons”, according to VMU Honorary Doctor Prof. V. Biržiška.

Vytautas Magnus University was re-established on the 28th of April 1989 after the declaration of the Restoration Act of Vytautas Magnus University. Since the first days of its activities, the University has set great goals, i.e. to represent a scientific spirit in the society, to promote scientific activities and to purposefully modernize society and the state.

On the 12th of June 1993, the publishing group was registered in Vytautas Magnus University for editing and printing of non-periodical publications. This date marks the beginnings of publishing in the University. The initiative to establish a publishing house was proposed by the Head of the Department of the Lithuanian Literature Prof. Leonas Gudaitis. The publishing house was founded in 1997. Since its establishment until 2014, its chief editor was Robertas Keturakis. From 1999 until 2014 the head of the publishing house was Jonas Jaučkojis.

On the 2nd of January 2019, after the three universities (Vytautas Magnus University, Lithuanian University of Education and Aleksandras Stulginskis University) had been merged into one Vytautas Magnus University, the Publishing Group of the Publishing and Scientific Communication Department of VMU library (together with the departments of other universities) was reorganized into the Publishing Center of the Management and Investment Department of Vytautas Magnus University.